Cute Kitchen Apron

20131228035I love to cook and bake, so an apron seemed like the perfect sewing project. These are so fun to make that I’ll be making my third Apron today! I designed my own pattern after reading a few tutorials, this one and this one were my favorite.

Project: Cute Kitchen Apron

Materials: 1/2 yard focal fabric (I used Michael Miller Brown Vegetable Print)
3/4 yard main fabric (I used green and white dot fabric from Joann’s)
3/4 yard muslin or other lining fabric
1/4 yard accent fabric (I used a bright orange fabric from a local shop)
20131227013Time: 4 hours

First, cut out an apron shape with the main fabric and lining fabric. I drew out my pattern on newspaper first and then used that as a template. Next, cut the rest of the apron pieces. The waist straps and neck straps, I cut 4 in strips. The ruffle waist band is a 5 in strip. The pocket measures 14 x 10 and the accent ruffles I cut 2.25 in strips.

After the pieces are cut, make the ruffle waist band by increasing the stitch length as much as possible and sewing on each edge. Then pull the top thread so the fabric gathers. Once it looks how you like, iron it in place. Also fold over a 1/2 inch seam. 20131227014Pin the ruffled band in place and sew 1/4 inch from the edge. Next work on the pocket, pin the pieces right side together, sew around leaving a gap, and flip. 20131227015Position the pocket in place and pin. Sew in place, around the sides and bottom. I also divided my pocket in the middle. (Note: My next apron I will attach the pocket after the apron is put together, to help keep the lining fabric and top fabric in place. 20131227019To make the straps, fold fabric right sides together and sew 1/4 in seam. For the accent ruffles fold fabric wrong sides together, and sew 1/4 in seam with an increased stitch length. Then pull the top thread to gather the fabric just a little and iron in place. Once those pieces are finished, pin them in place on the apron. 20131227021Place the lining fabric on top right sides together, and pin in place. Sew 1/4 in seam all around the apron, leaving a gap to turn. Next turn the apron and iron really well. 20131227025The final step is to top stitch around the apron, to secure everything. Use a matching thread if possible so it looks neat. 20131228033That’s it!

Overall thoughts: These aprons are so fun to make and there are endless possibilities of different themes and color combinations!

Leave a Reply

