Freezer Friendly Chimichanga

20130420026Over the weekend I made Freezer Friendly Chimichangas for Pat and I to take for lunch during the week. I hadn’t made them in over a year because last time it was such a production, but this time was much easier. I made two types of chimichangas one with beans and one with out. I like refried beans in mine and my husband doesn’t. I also made my chimichangas a bit smaller. 20130420011Here is the line up of ingredients: Shredded chicken, 1 bag shredded cheddar cheese, 1 can refried beans, 1 jar salsa verde, 2 packages of tortillas, and 1 1/2 cups rice. I baked 3 large split chicken breasts and shredded the meat. Then I mixed in 1 12-ounce jar of salsa verde and 1 8-ounce bag of cheddar cheese. 20130420012-EditTo make my chimichangas I spread 1 spoonful of beans, 1/3 cup chicken mixture, and 1/4 cup rice. For my husbands I spread 1/3 cup rice and 1/2 cup chicken mixture. 20130420017Then I folded up the tortillas and lined them on a baking sheet. 20130420019Finally, I brushed them with olive oil and baked them at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. 20130420024After they cooled completely, I wrapped them individually with plastic wrap and put them in a freezer Ziploc bag.

Recipe:

ingredients

1 1/2 cups dry rice, cooked

1 can refried beans

2 packages of tortillas

3 split chicken breasts, baked and shredded

1 12-ounce jar salsa verde

1 8-ounce bag shredded cheddar cheese

Salt

Pepper

Hot Sauce (optional)

directions- for small Bean, rice and chicken chimichangas

Preheat oven at 350 degrees. Combine chicken, cheese, and salsa. Add salt and pepper to taste. Take one tortilla and spread a spoonful of beans in the center, top with 1/4 cup rice, and 1/3 cup chicken mixture. Add a dash of hot sauce on the chicken mixture if you want a little heat. Fold up the tortilla and place on a lined baking sheet. Repeat with remaining chicken mixture and tortillas. You should have between 15-20 chimichangas. Brush tops with olive oil and bake for 25 minutes. Let chimichangas cool completely and then wrap in plastic wrap and place in a freezer ziploc bag.

Cost Saving Comparison:

I looked for a similar sized burrito at my local grocery store to compare, which was priced at 2.69 for a single burrito.

All of the ingredients for this recipe cost me 14.28.

Here is the break down:

Rice: 0.74

Beans: 1.00

Tortillas: 4.23 (for 17)

Chicken: 4.98

Salsa: 1.99

Cheese: 1.34

I made 17 Chimichangas with these ingredients. Cost per Chimichanga= 0.84. That comes out to a savings of 31.45 for making the 17 Chimichangas vs buying the pre-made for 2.69 each.

3 thoughts on “Freezer Friendly Chimichanga

  1. Pingback: Cinco de Mayo Recipe Roundup | Create Inspiration

Leave a Reply

