Farmers Market Friday

IMAG0285 (2)Last Saturday I walked down to our local Farmers Market to pick up a few things. I knew I wanted to get some strawberries and something for dinner on Sunday.IMAG0288 (2)I got a quart of super sweet strawberries. We snacked on them all day and ate them with chocolate ice cream for dessert! So much better than strawberries from the grocery store. IMAG0286 (2)This week at the farmers market I found lots of radishes, various types of lettuce, swiss chard, peas, basil, beets, spring cauliflower, cucumbers, and tons of strawberries. I am excited to see how to produce changes as we get further into summer. IMAG0284 (2)There were still some plants and flowers but I think this might be the last week.20130609010-EditI picked out some rainbow Swiss chard to make pasta for dinner! I used this recipe but modified it a little. I used more ricotta cheese, added heavy cream, and swapped almonds for the pine nuts. This was our first time trying Swiss chard and we loved it.

I’m planning on going back to the farmers market this Saturday! I’ll probably get more strawberries and try something new.

Leave a Reply

