Staying Healthy This Holiday Season

AL phone upload 10-24-13 357This holiday season I want to stay on track with healthy habits. This includes eating healthy (for the most part) and getting some type of exercise everyday.

In November I was working out a few times a week. I want to do better than that and work out everyday in December for at least 30 minutes! The weather here in Colorado has been fluctuating between really cold and pretty mild. On the warms days, I plan to go for a 4.5 mile walk. Because this takes me about 1 hour and 20 minutes, I definitely won’t be doing it everyday.  I have a plan for a shorter workout on those really cold days. Photo 7_edited-2We have an unfinished basement in our townhouse and set up a little work out area. I can put my bike on the trainer or lift weights. That can get pretty boring, but I recently discovered that Amazon Prime has lots of workout videos for free streaming.

These are some of my favorites:
Jillian Michaels: Banish Fat Boost Metabolism 
Jillian Michaels: Shred-It With Weight 
Jillian Michaels: 6 Week Six-Pack 
Denise Austin: Shape Up and Shed Pounds 
Denise Austin: Sculpt & Burn Body Blitz 
I am also thinking of buying this one because its not available for free streaming. It’s a total body workout that’s only 30 minutes long and most of the other videos are a full hour.
Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30 

I also need to eat healthy this month, which can be pretty tough with all the cookies and rich comfort foods. Here’s my plan to eat healthy:

Breakfast: Full fat yogurt and granola

Lunch: Soup or Salad

Snacks: Fruit(apple, pear, orange), some type of healthy bar (I need to find a recipe), or a cup of tea with honey

Dinner: Keep the portions small, go light on the Carbs, and eat more veggies.

I’ll be posting updates to help keep me on track!

Leave a Reply

