Mother’s Day Card | Using watercolors

20140423074Watercolors have been on my list of things to try for a long time. I so was inspired by this project and finally decided to pick up a set and try it out.

Project: Watercolor Mother’s Day Card20140423060What you’ll need: watercolors, paintbrush, white card (I used an A2 card, 4.25x 5.5), cup of water, scrap paper, and some embellishments (I just use whatever I have on hand- more on that below)

Time: 1 hour

Before I got started on the card, I practiced on some scrap paper to get a feel for painting with watercolors. When I was ready, I painted on my card starting with red and fading to yellow. 20140423062Then I let it dry and the paper curled a little. So I put the card under a few heavy books to flatten it out. 20140423066Embellishments: I used used my silhouette to cut out the Happy Mother’s Day circles, but you could use letter stickers or print out the text. I also used some craft bakers twine, enamel dots, and my sewing machine for some stitching detail. If you don’t have a sewing machine, you could hand stitch some detail on the card or just leave it off all together.  20140423072I made two other versions but this one is still my favorite!

If you haven’t tried watercolors yet, I definitely recommend it. They are cheap (my set only cost $5 with a coupon) and the possibilities are endless.

Happy (almost) Mother’s Day Mom!

Leave a Reply

