Sewing a Summer Dress

Summer dress2

Sometimes I need to do a project just for fun, without over thinking it. That’s exactly what I did with this dress. The only plan I had was just to sew a dress, that’s it.

I used a ribbed tank top for the top (to make things easier) and a yard of a striped knit fabric for the bottom.

.Sewing a tank top dress

I didn’t use a pattern or look up a tutorial, I just sewed. It’s not perfect but I’m OK with that. I hemmed the length a little to short because instead of measuring I just cut the bottom off. Oh well. It looks cute with leggings, which are more practical for chilly nights in Colorado anyways. It’s a little risky to attempt a project like this. It totally could have ended in disaster but its also super relaxing and inspiring to just go for it and see what happens. And overall, I’m really happy with how it came out.

The hardest part of this project was definitely sewing with the knit fabric. I’m still learning but it is definitely challenging. The fabric is so stretchy that its hard to measure and cut. Sewing is even harder but there are a few things that make it a bit easier.

1. using a ball point needle.

2. using a zig zag stitch. A regular stitch just pulls the fabric funny. A zig zag stitch still fixes that and lets the stitch stretch with the fabric.

3. I also used a walking foot so the fabric wouldn’t get as stretched out, but I’m not sure I really needed too. The zig zag stitch seemed to work really well.

I’m considering this project a win. The plan was to sew a dress and in just a couple hours I had a dress.

2 thoughts on “Sewing a Summer Dress

Leave a Reply

