Adventures in Canning

20140430003Lately, I’ve been obsessed with canning. I first tried it last November and made a small batch of apple butter. It was a little stressful because I didn’t know what I was doing.20140501001_edited-1I decided to try it again and checked out a bunch of books from the library and bought Preserving by the Pint. There are so many good recipes in these books. 

Since mangoes were on sale at my grocery store I picked out the mango salsa recipe. 20140425002This is everything I used to can the mango salsa. It might look like a lot but really its not. I have this basic canning kit, which has everything you need to get started. I just use my big pasta pot with a wash cloth on the bottom, but you can also use a special canning pot with a rack.  20140425003The salsa was really easy to put together. I made a double batch which made 6 half pint jars. I had to cook mine for a little longer than the recipe called for to thicken it. The actual canning process was pretty easy. It took me a couple of hours from start to finish.2014043000920140430010I made labels for the lids of my jars and used my from the kitchen of stamp as well. It’s nice to have the jars ready to gift but just a tip, it’s better to store the jars without the rings.

Here’s a few other recipes I want to try from Preserving by the Pint I want to try this season:

Mustardy Rhubarb Chutney

Whole Strawberries in Vanilla Syrup

Apricot Rosemary Jam

Peach Barbecue Sauce

Raspberry Habanero Jam

Marinated Red Peppers

Corn ans Tomato Relish

Pickled Hot Pepper Rings

Pizza Sauce

 

One thought on “Adventures in Canning

Leave a Reply

